The Management

Wintershall Dea is Europe’s leading independent natural gas and crude oil company. The company's Executive Board unites a broad range of expertise, international experience and various nationalities.

Wintershall Dea Management Board
Wintershall Dea/Ludwig Schöpfer

Wintershall Dea's shareholders are BASF and LetterOne. With its around 3,000 employees from more than 50 countries, the company explores for and produces natural gas and crude oil worldwide – in the most efficient and responsible way. Our mission is to offer solutions to meet the challenges of the future, in particular the world’s growing need for energy, and climate change. With our policy of growth geared toward sustainability, we aim to create long-term value for our shareholders, employees, partners and society. Technological competence, operational excellence and strong partnerships: Those are the success factors in international business. This is our management team.

Mario Mehren

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Chief Executive Officer Mario Mehren is responsible for the areas of Human Resources, General Counsel, Corporate Communications, HSEQ, Strategy and M&A, and Investor Relations. After completing his studies in Business Administration at Saarland University in Saarbrücken, he began his professional career in 1998 as specialist adviser in BASF’s Group Accounting section. The business graduate moved to Wintershall in 2006. He joined Wintershall’s Board of Executive Directors in 2011 and has been CEO from 2015.

Wintershall Dea Chairman of the Board CEO Mario Mehren
Wintershall Dea/Ludwig Schöpfer

How we are positioned as a company and how we work makes it clear who we are: Our roots are in Germany, our home is Europe and our work is global.

Mario Mehren
CEO of Wintershall Dea
Wintershall Member of the Board COO Maria Moræus Hanssen
Wintershall Dea/Ludwig Schöpfer
Maria Moræus Hanssen

Member of the Board, Chief Operating Officer (COO) and Deputy CEO, Region EMEA

Maria Moræus Hanssen is responsible on the Executive Board for the Business Units Germany, Norway, Netherlands, UK and Denmark, Egypt, Libya, Algeria, UAE, and Integration Project. Among other things, the Norwegian studied Petroleum Engineering at the NTNU in Trondheim. From 1992 on she worked for Hydro, Statoil and Aker. In 2014 she became CEO of GDF Suez (later Engie) E&P International SA. From 2018, Maria Moræus Hanssen was Chairman of the Management Board and CEO of DEA Deutsche Erdoel AG.

Hugo Dijkgraaf

Member of the Board, Chief Technology Officer (CTO)

Hugo Dijkgraaf is the board member responsible for Digital Transformation, Technology and Innovation, Integrated Reservoir Management, Global Exploration, Global Development and Engineering, Global Production and Operational Excellence, Major Project Nova and Major Project Dvalin. The Dutchman has a Master’s degree in Petroleum Engineering from Delft University of Technology, joined Wintershall in 2000, and assumed various technical and management tasks. Since 2017, he was heading the Norwegian activities as Managing Director of Wintershall Norge.

Wintershall Dea Member of the Board CTO Hugo Dijkgraaf
Wintershall Dea/Ludwig Schöpfer
Wintershall Dea
Wintershall Dea/Ludwig Schöpfer
Paul Smith

Member of the Board, CFO

Paul Smith is the board member in charge of Accounting and Reporting, Corporate Finance and Treasury, Information Technology, Procurement, Corporate Audit, and Marketing and Sales. The Dutchman studied Business Organization at the Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh and began his career at BP in Aberdeen in 1993. After that he worked for various international companies in diverse management posts. He was last CFO and Executive Vice President Corporate Development at Vesta Energy in Calgary.

Thilo Wieland

Member of the Board, Region Russia, Latin America and Transportation

Thilo Wieland is in charge of the Business Units Russia, Achimgaz, Argentina, Mexico, Brazil and Midstream. After studying Industrial Engineering at the Technical University of Berlin, he joined Wintershall Erdgas Handelshaus in Berlin in 1999. That was followed by various posts at the Wintershall Group. Among other things, he was responsible for Nord Stream and other gas transport projects. He was also a member of Wintershall’s Board of Executive Directors from 2015.

Wintershall Dea Member of the Board Thilo Wieland
Wintershall Dea/Ludwig Schöpfer
Related articles
Wintershall Dea Merger
Who we are

The Merger

Wintershall Dea is Europe’s leading independent natural gas and crude oil company. Together we offer solutions to meet some of humankind's major challenges of the future.

Wintershall Dea Responsibility
What we believe


We apply the very highest health, safety and environmental standards in all we do. In addition, we are involved in social and cultural activities to enrich social life wherever we are.